top of page

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated 
116 Years of Service

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, founded on January 15, 1908, is the first Black Greek-lettered sorority.  It began as a vision of an ambitious and determined Howard University student, Ethel Hedgeman Lyle. Armed with the belief that African-American females needed sisterly support and encouragement to help them through their college experiences, she assembled a group of young women who were just as dedicated and determined. They were sisters Beulah Elizabeth and Lillie Burke, Margaret Flagg Holmes, Marjorie Hill, Lucy Diggs Slowe, Marie Woolfolk Taylor, Anna Easter Brown, Lavinia Norman, Norma Boyd, Ethel Jones Mowbray, Alice P. Murray, Sarah Meriweather Nutter, Joanna Mary Berry Shields, Carrie E. Snowden, and Harriet Josephine Terry, and of course, Ethel Hedgeman Lyle. Together, these women represent Alpha Kappa Alpha’s founders.

Members Nellie Quander, Norma Boyd, Julia Brooks, Ethel Jones Mowbray, Nellie Pratt Russell, and Minnie Beatrice Smith were able to make Alpha Kappa Alpha a perpetual body by incorporating it on January 29, 1913 making it the first Black sorority to become incorporated.

Today, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated is comprised of ten separate regions. This sisterhood extends internationally and membership continues to thrive as the ladies of the Salmon Pink and Apple Green continue to be of service to all mankind.

For more information about Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated please visit

bottom of page